SANDF Military Police Agency


On 1 April 1999, Col Hoepfner Wiese, the Director Provost Services of the SA Army was promoted to the rank of Brigadier General and appointed by the Chief of the SANDF, Genl Siphiwe Nyanda, as Director Military Police Services of the SANDF and as Chief of the Military Police Agency.

This made Brig Gen Wiese the "de facto" "Provost Marshal" of the SANDF. The establishment of the Military Police Agency on the same day brought the Military Police from each arm of service into one unit again and the re-establishment of centralised policy making and control of the military police within the SANDF.

The Military Police Agency consists of:
  • Military Police School - Previously Provost School.
  • Northern Military Police Region.
    • Thaba Tswane Base MP - previously Gauteng Comd Pro Unit.
    • AFB Waterkloof MP
    • Dequar MP. Serves Ministry of Defence General Support Base.
    • Tek Base MP
    • AFB Hoedspruit MP
    • AFB Louis Trichardt MP
    • Pietersburg Base MP - previously Far North Comd Pro Unit.
    • Middelburg Base MP
    • Wonderboom Base MP
  • Central Military Police Region.
    • Bloemfontein Base MP - previously OFS Comd Pro Unit.
    • Kroonstad Base MP
    • Durban Base MP - previously Natal Comd Pro Unit.
    • Port Elizabeth Base MP - previously EP Comd Pro Unit.
    • Umtata Base MP
  • Southern Military Police Region.
    • Youngsfield Base MP - previously WP Comd Pro Unit.
    • Naval Base Simonstown MP
    • CFS Langebaanweg MP
  • Western Military Police Region.
    • Potchefstroom Base MP - previously NW Comd Pro Unit.
    • Kimberley Base MP - previous NC Comd Pro Unit.
    • Lohatla Base MP - previously A Battle S Pro Unit.
  • 1 Provost Regiment.
    • 13 Provost Company (Regular Force)
    • 17 Provost Company (Reserve Force) - previously 7 Provost Company
    • 18 Provost Company (Reserve Force) - previously 8 Provost Company
    • 19 Provost Company (Reserve Force) - previously 9 Provost Company
An SA Army Corps,

SA Corps of Military Police
an SA Air Force mustering,

SA Air Force Police
and a SA Navy trade,

Naval Patrol

now provide the personnel of the Military Police Agency
7 SA Division was disbanded on the same day and 7 Provost Unit was transferred to the Military Police Agency. The unit was again split into three companies, the companies renamed and together with a new unit, namely 13 Provost Company, became part of 1 Provost Regiment.